La Tour Eiffel

Aujourd’hui j’ai visité la Tour Eiffel. I’ve been here 3 weeks and so far I’ve only caught glimpses of the landmark in the distance every now and then – as if it’s trying to deny me the fact that I’m actually in Paris. Today I finally got the chance to get up close and personal, even if the weather was a bit cloudy and not quite the backdrop I would’ve hoped for.

I went with Eléonore – my French exchange partner from back when I was in 6th form. I’ve not seen her in about 5 years so it was nice to catch up! It’s amazing how much can happen in such a short space of time. It was also nice to visit the Tower on a day when there are only about twelve other tourists around. Despite the overcast skies, I got a few good photos.

I met Eléonore at Gare du Nord and we got un sandwich à emporter (a baguette to go, of course) and then took the metro towards Bir-Hakeim station where the Eiffel Tower is. We walked around the local area a bit and I was shown to a nearby Starbucks where there is both free WiFi and coffee that seems to taste the same no matter where in the world you are. As much as I love having my café quotidienne in a tiny china mug, being able to have as much milk as I like in a container the size of my face is quite a comfort. I also bought myself a nice Starbucks Paris flask to take to class with me.

And as if meeting an old friend, sightseeing and American coffee weren’t enough – we then decided to go and find a crêperie to get our fix of lemon and sugar filled pancakes before I had to head back to the station for my train home. If you ever find yourself with a moment that needs filling by the way, head to maps.google.fr and search for ‘crêperie paris’. There are literally hundreds.

Anyway – thank you to Eléonore for a lovely afternoon! It really does make a difference to my mental state being able to leave the house for a bit during the day. As I type I’m watching over the boys as they play on the computer, hit each other and watch endless amounts of French Disney Channel. Bring on bedtime.

Leave a Reply

